Class Trip – Albatross

c-fireWe were in our 3rd semester MBA when most of us had a realisation that this would be the last time we are conventionally enrolled in a full time classroom program. And also that these were the last few days to form a etching memory. Few of them started telling me – “We must have a class trip before we leave college.” And yeah! I felt definitely We Must!

There was this desire but no direction. So I felt that it would be nice if I could give direction to this interest.

2Days before my second internals I started the plan, so that once we finish second internals and before our semester exams we could plan out something. Well I sat down on Saturday from 11am to 2pm making a decent comparison of the different possible locations. I felt we would decide on something that would require a little bit of travelling around 30kms. Cause travelling creates one of the best memories according to me๐Ÿ˜

I made a word document of the prices and 5 locations. Of the 5 locations I felt MangoMist Resort on Bannerghatta road was a pretty decent one. Then I enquired about this from around 15 of my friends and people whom I know. All said that was a really nice place to be. Out of the 15, twelve of them gave a thumbs up for food.

I discussed this on the class WhatsApp group. I asked people to pitch in new locations. Except for one, nobody came in with any suggestions for the next week. I understand they had internals. Post internals we had 4 days of festive holidays – Diwali ๐ŸŽ†๐ŸŽ‡

So then college started on 2nd Nov. And on 5th I spoke to the representative at MangoMist and asked for a rough estimate for 50. My class has a strength of 60 and I honestly felt around 40 of them would definitely be game for it.

I made an announcement in class after a lab session. And many seemed interested – the outing date was not interfering with any of the lab exams or make-up tests(internals). On Saturday 5th Nov 2016 a sheet was sent around welcoming people interested to write down their names.

Surprises always exist๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ The list contained 22 names. Where my estimate was 40 and class strength was 60. Now, my class failed me as marketing student. My market research was wrong, the target audience was wrongly segmented and my positioning strategy was crap!

In the 22 names, 5 of us were like actually organising the class outing. It was just a one day outing around 7-10 hours of time, on a Sunday for the people with whom we spent 1.5 years seemed a reasonable deal. ๐Ÿ˜‚

What makes me bit agonised is not knowing as to why the outing didn’t appeal to my classmates.

Lessons of 2k16-

Man proposes, God disposes ๐Ÿ˜‚

And yes I didn’t know how the bookings for such a large group or how to arrange transportation for such a large group would happen! I had an insight into all this.

Thank you mates๐Ÿ˜€๐Ÿ˜Š

To all those who read this, what you must try figuring out is the meaning of Albatross! Just in case you don’t know๐Ÿ˜‚ Learning new words are definitely nice.

Life is Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

